Why I don’t hate religion…(James 1:27)

Recently there has been alot of buzz about this video. It’s really well done, and has a great gospel presentation at the end, but in the words of Amy, “this video is more about hating religion than Jesus.” I tend to agree. I guess I am realizing something about myself that I hate. And now when I see it elsewhere, I hate it too. I’ve realized that I’m a cynic. I can make fun of and dislike pretty much anything. Lately its been overplayed Christian music. And by lately I mean the past 8 years. And to be completely transparent, I think spoken word is lame and annoying.

Anyway back to the video. The premise of the video is spelled out in his one line, “That Jesus and Religion are on opposite spectrums.” Now I understand his desire to separate hypocrisy in the church and Jesus, but I wonder if he is swinging the pendulum too far in the other direction. We cannot discount the fact that Jesus came save us and establish the church. The church is a response to communal salvation. His line, “Jesus had you on his mind” is very pretty and makes me feel warm and fuzzy, but he also had everyone else’s, God’s sovereignty, and a bunch of pain. So you weren’t alone on his mind.

The last part of my rant, is that the book of James talks about religion, and it doesn’t seem like it’s on a different spectrum than Jesus. 1:27 says this: “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” So the question is not abou getting rid of religion, but remember what the church was made to do. To glorify God by loving the least.

Now somebody make a lame video about how God loves religion, when it does these things, and we can all have something else to talk about.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

